i think i am falling for you


3

Hmmm…
Yesterday I caught myself smiling when I heard your name.
Smiling for so long that when I stopped I got confused wondering why I smiled, and for that long?
Simply because I heard your name? No! it’s ridiculous.
So like a hidden treasure to be found, I dug and dug into the faculties of my mind, searched the deepest part of soul and even beneath the shallowest part of my heart yet I couldn’t find the reason.
I was drenched in sweat from such arduous emotional task yet I was coming to no conclusion.
“One more struck” I said to myself and I did….I found why. The reason your name could have made me smile. I think I am falling for you.
I couldn’t believe it myself until in the evening I unconsciously spent 10 out my 15 minutes bedtime prayers on you. How God should watch over you and treat you to some sweet dream and touch the heart of your boss who seem to be giving you a hard time. Truth is I had to literally stop myself else I would have used the remaining five minutes to pronounce blessings into your entire extended family. How did I get here? Falling for you?
I didn’t realize how for the last month or so my 6:30pm on week days has found me glued to my window like a security guard manning the gate of an honorable minister of state. And how when I am there I can’t even afford a blink like a party official observing a ballot count! All to catch a glimpse of you, strolling pass sometimes in a hurry and other times, I need not be a seer to tell something didn’t add up at work. And it would seem I occasionally bump into you, when it is actually calculated, planned and rehearsed. True, I am falling for you and I can’t help it.
And to think I have a picture of your smile and a recording of your giggle which seems like that of a five year old in my head that I replay anytime I miss you is damn serious. This is no joke. I am disappointed with myself because I enjoy our pointless conversation, absurd debates and ridiculous fight over the number of kelewele each has eaten or pieces of khebab left on the stick more than the serious issues we talk about. Gee…I am in trouble! This is real now!
How I keep looking at my phone and checking my “whatapp” because I see you online and I am wondering why you aren’t typing hi or hello! So I wait for 10 minutes to about 30 minutes then I give up and type “hi, whats up..you dey.” I am falling for you and it is no longer funny!
And how I have lost count of the number of times I have forgiven you and how something little you do can hurt so much. Sometimes I wished I were a fairly god or had some super power not to do anything for myself but to grant your heart desires with a wave. True, I am falling for you.
How you keep pushing me to stretch beyond myself and work harder to fulfill my dreams. How you can listen to me over and over again only for you to ask the necessary questions that makes me think and rethink to create a better plan! I can’t lie to myself again, I am indeed falling for you.

4
This can’t be. After suffering broken hearts twice, I promised to look at every lady once, even half but I seem to have looked at you not once, not twice, not thrice but (counting fingers..), see I have lost count ! I thought I had built a Chinese wall around my heart and threw the keys away or so. Yet just by being yourself around me, I have effortlessly climb the wall, broken the lock and freed my heart to love again. I can’t even catch myself falling. I guess it’s true what they say….love catches you unawares.
I see why I smiled and for that long….true I am falling for you but I will never tell you tweakai!!

Kwabena Eddie Mankata (c) 2014

8 thoughts on “i think i am falling for you

Leave a comment